Icon - Service excellence awards

Service excellence awards

Service excellence awards

Kidney Health Australia presents and supports awards that recognise the wonderful health professionals who have made significant contributions in the field of kidney disease. 

TSANZ Aviva Rosenfeld Award for Excellence in Patient Care in Transplantation

See TSANZ Aviva Rosenfeld Award for Excellence in Patient Care in Transplantation award (closing date 13 April 2018).

The Primary Care Awards 

We believe that every person at risk of kidney disease should receive a regular kidney health check and subsequent evidence-based care to reduce the progression of their kidney disease. To recognise excellence in this field we introduced a new awards program in conjunction with Kidney Health Week in 2016. The new awards celebrate individuals or organisations working in Primary Care who deliver best practice detection and management of kidney disease.

The winners of the Inaugural ‘Kidney Health Australia Awards for Excellence in the Detection of Chronic Kidney Disease in Primary Care’ were announced during Kidney Health Week (22nd – 29th May) 2016. 

2016 winners are:

  •  Overall Winner and Category Winner - GP Practice: Aberfoyle Park Medical Centre
  • Runner-up and Certificate of Excellence Awarded: Shoalhaven Medical Centres
  • Category Winner - Individual: Ms Sarsha Kalker, Registered Nurse
  • Category Winner - Other: Bulgarr Ngaru Medical Aboriginal Corporation
  • Certificate of Excellence Awarded: Dr Wayne Cooper, General Practitioner

  Read our inaugural Primary Care Awards 2016 report here.

The Kincaid-Smith Medal

The Kincaid-Smith Medal is our highest accolade to an Australian citizen or resident for outstanding clinical and scientific achievement in research into the treatment of diseases of the kidneys and urinary tract.

This prestigious award was established to honour the outstanding clinical and scientific achievements of Emeritus Professor Priscilla Kincaid-Smith AC, CBE and her years of service to our organisation.

In the early 1960s, Professor Priscilla Kincaid-Smith demonstrated overwhelming evidence of a link between headache powders and kidney damage, and campaigned against their use. Her research also contributed to a link between the kidneys and high blood pressure.

The winners of the Kincaid Smith Medal are:

Carmel Hawley

(Pictured l-r: Carol Pollock, His Excellency the Governor-General Sir Peter Cosgrove, Professor Carmel Hawley, Lady Cosgrove)

2018 - Professor Carmel Hawley
2015 - Professor John Agar OAM and Associate Professor Tim Mathew AM
2012 - Professor David Harris
2010 - Professor Judith A Whitworth AC
2005 - Professor Stephen Holdsworth
2002 - Professor Anthony d’Apice
2000 - The ANZDATA Registry
1996 - Professor Villis Marshall
1994 - Professor Robert Atkins

Australia and New Zealand Society of Nephrology (ANZSN) Awards

Kidney Health Australia sponsors two awards at the ANZSN Annual Scientific Meeting. The awards are for the best Clinical Nephrology presentation ($5,000), and the best Green Nephrology Action Team presentation ($1000).  All presenting ANZSN members are eligible.

All winners of the award are listed here:

Clinical Presentation Award

2018 - Philip Clayton
2017 - Alan Cass
2016 - Andrea Viecelli
2015 - Germaine Wong
2014 - Meg Jardine
2013 - David Johnson
2012 - John Collins
2011 - Susan Blair
2010 - Kym Bannister
2009 - Alan Cass
2008 - Jonathan Craig
2007 - Hooi Sian Eng
2006 - Stephen McDonald
2005 - Nikky Isbel
2004 - Zhiquing Wang
2003 - Kevan Polkinghorne
2002 - Wendy Hoy
2001 - Gursharan Dogra
2000 - David Johnson
1999 - Ashley Irish

Green Nephrology Action Team Award

2019 - Donna Macwan
2018 - Natasha Abeysekera

Transplantation Society of Australian and New Zealand Awards (TSANZ)

Kidney Health Australia sponsors two awards for at the TSANZ Annual Scientific Meeting. The awards are for the best Clinical presentation ($1000), and the best Laboratory presentation ($1000). All presenting members of TSANZ are eligible.

All winners of these awards are listed below.

Clinical Presentation Awards

2019 - Phil Clayton 
2018 - Wayne Hawthorne
2017 – Allison Tong
2016 - Wai Lim
2015 - Germaine Wong
2014 - Ashley Irish
2013 - Melanie Wyld
2012 - Suda Swaminathan
2011 - Philip Clayton
2010 - Helen Pilmore
2009 - Shaundeep Sen
2008 - Jenna Iwasenko
2007 - Martin Gallagher
2006 - Jeffery Fletcher
2005 - Winita Hardikar
2004 - Alan Glanville
2003 - David Nicol
2002 - Bill Mulley
2001 - Paul Trevillian
2000 - Derek Hart
1999 - Brian Nankivell
1998 - Geoff McCaughan

Laboratory Based Presentation Awards

2019 - Anjan Bongoni
2018 - Geoff Zhang
2017 – Sebastian Stead
2016 - Evelyn Salvaris
2015 - Jamie Brady
2014 - Wayne Hawthorne
2013 - Stacey Walters
2012 - Robyn Sutherland
2011 - Jeanette Villanueva
2010 - Kate Markey
2009 - Siddharth Rajakumar
2008 - Kate Markey
2007 - Stacey Walters
2006 - Peter Cowan
2005 - Geoff Zhang
2004 - Alfred Hing
2003 - James Collins
2002 - Jon Ryan
2001 - Bruce Hall
2000 - Shlomo Cohney
1999 - Chen Au Peh

For more information

Please address your enquiries about our awards program to Research Officer, Kidney Health Australia, GPO Box 9993, Melbourne, VIC 3001 or email research@kidney.org.au

Awards & recognitionMark Colvin Scholarship
Join our community to download

Register to download PDF

Your Details

Keep up to date with new COVID-19 information and tips to look after your kidney health

Your Details

By signing up, I agree that I have read and I accept, the Kidney Health Australia Privacy Policy