Skip to main content

Before you download

We use your information to keep you updated on kidney health matters of interest to you. We will only ask you once and then you’ll be able to seamlessly download resources as you need. You are free to unsubscribe from our communications at any time.

Find out how we protect your information in our Privacy Policy.

Stages of kidney disease

Each of the five stages of chronic kidney disease is related to the level of kidney function and kidney damage.

Doctor speaking to patients

There are five stages to kidney disease. You can find out what stage you’re in by testing:

  • your blood pressure
  • the blood’s eGFR (estimated glomerular filtration rate)
  • your urine’s ACR (albumin:creatinine ratio)

Depending on your stage of kidney disease, your test result will vary. There will also be different ways to manage your health. While everyone’s experience of kidney disease is unique, we’ve prepared some guidelines on what you can expect below.

Stages of kidney disease

Reducing the impact of kidney disease

No matter what stage you’re at, being aware of how you feel, along with effective management, can slow the progress of kidney disease and reduce the chance of other complications.

If you’d like to know more, Kidney Health Australia is here for support. You can call our Kidney Helpline and speak to a health professional on 1800 454 363 between 9am-5pm Australian Eastern Standard Time. It’s a free call.

We're here to help.

The diagnosis of kidney disease can be overwhelming and confusing. Our Kidney Helpline team are here to help you understand the diagnosis and connect you to information and support services.

Call us Email us